Oasis, Ozzy Osbourne, and Sade nominated


News Team

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has released the list of artists and bands nominated for induction in 2024. Some of the nominees include Oasis, Ozzy Osbourne, Sade, Mariah Carey, Sinead O’Connor, Cher, Mary J. Blige, Jane’s Addiction, A Tribe Called Quest, Dave Matthews Band, Peter Frampton, Eric B. & Rakim, Foreigner, Kool & the Gang, and Lenny Kravitz. Despite efforts by Mexican journalist Miguel Gálvez for Soda Stereo to enter the Hall, the Argentine band did not make the cut.

To be nominated, bands or artists had to have a single or album published in 1999 or before, at least 25 years prior to the nomination. Ten of the nominees are first-time finalists. Ozzy Osbourne is already part of the Hall as a member of Black Sabbath, who joined in 2006. Oasis’ debut album, Definitely Maybe, was released in 1994, meeting the 25-year requirement. Cher has been eligible since 1991 and has expressed frustration with repeated omissions in the past.

The Hall’s 2024 class will be announced at the end of April and will have an induction ceremony in Cleveland that can be streamed. More than 1,000 people around the world, including artists, academics, journalists, producers, and music industry workers, are responsible for voting on which musicians enter the Hall. The majority vote of the public, known as the “fan vote,” is also taken into account, with voting through the official website of the Hall. The musicians and bands that entered the Hall in the 2023 edition were Rage Against the Machine, Willie Nelson, Missy Elliott, Kate Bush, George Michael, Sheryl Crow, and The Spinners.

Entertainment, Celebrity, News

Leave a Comment