Indians Advance to Puerto Rican Baseball League Final on Home Run by Crim

Indios de Mayagüez Triumphs Over Criollos de Caguas in Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League Semifinal Series

The Indios de Mayagüez achieved a monumental feat on January 15, 2023 when they conquered the Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League of Puerto Rico semifinal series in an exhilarating 2-1 victory over the Criollos de Caguas.

The winning run for Mayagüez was found in the bottom of the ninth inning when a pitch from closer Ricardo Gómez was rocked to left field to score Danny Ortiz. The crowd of Indians’ fans watching at Isidoro García de Mayagüez Stadium erupted in elation as Mayagüez prevailed by a final count of 4-2 in the series.

The first run of the game was a result of a wild pitch from right-hander José de León in the fourth inning with Chavez Young taking advantage to advance from third base. The Criollos attempted to mount a comeback in the ninth inning, with Juan Centeno hitting a single to bring Edwin Díaz home for the tying score, but ultimately failed to overcome Mayagüez’s lead.

Braden Webb was credited with the win for the Indios, while Ricardo Gomez received the loss for Caguas. With the result of this series, the dominance of the reigning Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League champions, Criollos, has been vacated as they cling to 20 total titles in winter baseball in Puerto Rico. Now the Indios await the winner of the other series between the Gigantes de Carolina and Cangrejeros de Santurce that will be finalized this Sunday.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *