British Foreign Minister Blacklisted by Russia

Britain adds James Cleverly and other senior officials to black list of Russian sanctions.

The Russian government announced this Saturday (14.01.2023) the inclusion of 36 soldiers, journalists and members of the British government in its blacklist of sanctioned individuals, after accusing them of carrying out an “anti-Russian campaign” and “discrediting Moscow” according the country’s Foreign Minister.

This move is described by the Russian Foreign Affairs spokeswoman Maria Zajarova, as a response to the United Kingdom’s rejection of a creative and constructive dialogue and its collaborative confrontation line with Washington. Maria also claims that Britain is responsible for spreading false information about their country and incitement to Russophobia.

The blacklisted people included the Foreign minister, James Cleverly, the minister without portfolio and Northhampton MP, Nadhim Zahawi, and former president of the Conservative Party and a member of the Government, Oliver Dowden.

To this list of names, it has also been added the chief of the General Staff, Patrick Sanders, as well as representatives of the leadership of the British Armed Forces Strategic Command and the National Center for Cyber ​​Security.

These sanctions come after the UK announced a package of 22 new sanctions last November, against Russian Deputy Prime Minister for Industry and Trade Denis Manturov among others. And later on, London expanded the list in response to the Russian attacks “against civilian targets” in Ukraine, in December.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *